WJ Mathematics Department

 Mr. John Chase, Resource Teacher

Phone: 240-740-6852

image08gvq.png

Greetings from your WJ math teachers. 😊

Have a GREAT 2022-2023 School year, everyone!

 

MCPS Math Vision Statement

All students in MCPS believe they are mathematical thinkers, who see themselves as resourceful and valuable contributors to the mathematical learning process. Students independently and collaboratively engage with mathematical content through the Standards for Mathematical Practice, engaging in rich discourse, and persevering in solving problems and tasks. Every student will be prepared for, interested in, and successful in higher-level mathematics. Their learning will transfer to other content areas and beyond to navigate the world as confident critical thinkers.

 

Math courses and graduation requirements

Four credits in mathematics, including 1 credit in Algebra and 1 credit in Geometry, are required for graduation. MSDE further specifies that students must earn credits in mathematics courses, including one with instruction in Algebra aligned with the MHSA for Algebra or one or more credits in subsequent mathematics courses for which Algebra I is a prerequisite; and one with instruction in Geometry aligned with the content standards for High School Geometry. Students must enroll in a mathematics-based course for each year they attend high school, up to a maximum of four years of attendance, unless in the fifth or sixth year a mathematics course is needed to meet a graduation requirement. This is required by MSDE, as well as by many colleges and universities to which MCPS students may want to apply. Students are advised to consult with their academic advisors/counselors to ensure they meet all mathematics graduation requirements, and to examine carefully any additional admission requirements that may be in effect at a prospective postsecondary school of interest.

 

Math Course Offerings at WJ
 
Other Math Opportunities at WJ
 

 

Summer Assignments

Summer Assignments are located on the website here.

 

WJ Math Resources
 

For tips on how parents can support their math students at home and math-specific academic supports at Walter Johnson refer to these documents:

 

MHS Help Room -- now open every day

The math help room is run by the Math Honor Society and is staffed by a certified teacher and a number of highly qualified students who are enrolled in higher-level math courses. The math help room is open at lunch every day:

MHS Math Help Room

MONDAY

229

TUESDAY

245

WEDNESDAY

229

THURSDAY

245

FRIDAY

229

 

WJHS Math Teachers
IMG_5330.jpg

Erin Besch

Erin_N_Besch@mcpsmd.org

Room 247

Quantitative Literacy

Calculus with Applications

image0nyo.png

Bali Boulé

Bali_Boule@mcpsmd.org

Room P14

Algebra 1

Related Math

Human Behavior

image4pfe5.png

Laura Brager

Laura_Brager@mcpsmd.org

Room 257

AP Statistics

Algebra 2

imagecg36s.png

Terri Bullock

Terri_L_Bullock@mcpsmd.org

Room 231

Precalculus

Honors Algebra 2

IMG_5272.jpg

Maggie Cawood

Margaret_E_Cawood@mcpsmd.org

Room 241

Algebra 1

Honors Geometry

imagepvw8j.png

John Chase

john.chase@mcpsmd.net

Room 239

Algebra 2

Multivariable Calculus & Differential Equations

IMG_5385.jpg

James Choi

I.James_Choi@mcpsmd.org

Room 227

BC Calculus

Honors Algebra 2

imageonxla.png

Trish Cooper

Tricia_M_Cooper@mcpsmd.org

Room 230

Precalculus

2 Year Algebra 2

imagekjip8.png

Sarah Ducklow

Sarah_J_Ducklow@mcpsmd.org

Room 234

Quantitative Literacy

image3so78.png

Brian Fairall

Brian_Fairall@mcpsmd.org

Room P4

Precalculus

AP Statistics

Emily Fleisher.png

Emily Fleisher

Emily_G_Fleisher@mcpsmd.org

Room P15

Algebra 1

imagevc6cd.png

Justin Fraser

Justin_B_Fraser@mcpsmd.org

Room 229

2 Year Algebra 2

Calculus with Applications

IMG_5335.jpg

Staci Gallun

Staci_C_Gallun@mcpsmd.org

Room 225

Intro to Statistics

Honors Precalculus

IMG_5318.jpg

Robert Green

Robert_Green@mcpsmd.org

Room P9

Honors Precalculus

Geometry

image9jhz6.png

Erin Hall

Erin_K_Hall@mcpsmd.org

Room 247

AB Calculus

Precalculus

imageotlgb.png

Apostolos Kalabakas

Apostolos_M_Kalabakas@mcpsmd.org

Room 229

Intro to Statistics

Honors Geometry

imageljxda.png

Steff Kerr

Steven_L_Kerr@mcpsmd.org

Room 232

Geometry

Honors Algebra 2

IMG_5303.jpg

Mary La Fratta

Mary_M_Lafratta@mcpsmd.org

Room 234

Intro to Statistics

Mike Laukaitis.png

Mike Laukaitis

Michael_J_Laukaitis@mcpsmd.org

Room P8

AB Calculus

2 Year Algebra 2

IMG_5346.jpg

Linda O'Reilly

Linda_D_O'Reilly@mcpsmd.org

Room 237

Geometry

IMG_5286.jpg

Mahek Pandya

Mahek_Pandya@mcpsmd.org

Room 238

Algebra 1

2 Year Algebra 2

Honors Geometry

IMG_5340.jpg

Kevin Parrish

Kevin_M_Parrish@mcpsmd.org

Room P5

Quantitative Literacy

AP Statistics

IMG_5263.jpg

Jill Pencek

Jill_M_Pencek@mcpsmd.org

Room 255

Algebra 1

Honors Geometry

Paige Schultz.png

Paige Schultz

Paige_J_Schultz@mcpsmd.org

Room P13

Geometry

Honors Algebra 2

IMG_5279.jpg

Lidia Talavera

Olga_L_Talavera@mcpsmd.org

Room 245

Honors Algebra 2

Geometry

IMG_5342.jpg

Michele Thoms

Michele_E_Thoms@mcpsmd.org

Room 258

Honors Precalculus

Geometry

blobid2.jpg

Rachel Zussman

Rachel_L_Zussman@mcpsmd.org

Room 233

AB Calculus

Algebra 2

   

 

Click here for a list of National Board Certified teachers