Skip to main content



Special Education Citizens Advisory Committee (SECAC)

SECAC is comprised of parents/guardians, Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) staff members, and representatives of Montgomery County community groups that advocate for students with special needs and serve to advocate for, and advise, the Office of Special Education (OSE).
Sign-up to join our SECAC meetings! SECAC is open to everyone. Please complete this form to sign up to participate in 2023-2024 SECAC Monthly Meetings and to receive emails.


Join our next SECAC meeting on Thursday, October 26, 2023 | Agenda | español


SECAC Meetings: 2023 - 2024 SECAC Calendar | español 

The public is welcome to attend.

Meeting Format:

Each meeting has public comments from 7:00–7:15 p.m. If you are interested in giving public comment, please sign up ahead of the meeting using this form. No decision will be made on public comment items during actual SECAC meeting. Any information will be handled outside the meeting through appropriate MCPS staff members. Public comment participants will have three minutes.

Please review the MCPS SECAC Public Comment Ground Rules.  No comments should be made that are derogatory or critical of specific MCPS staff members or any other individual on any level. Issues of concern brought forth in public comments should be expressed in global terms. If there is a time sensitive "personal" situation please alert SECAC CoChairs so they might help you and direct you to appropriate staff members to help resolve the issue.

Public comments are followed with updates by the directors from the Department of Special Education Services (DSES).

Need an interpreter?  Please place your request TEN days prior to the meeting using this form.

SECAC CoChairs

SECAC CoChairs can be accessed for any questions or concerns. The CoChairs are:


Presentations     Recorded Meetings


SECAC Meeting Agenda



SECAC Meeting Videos & Presentations 

For more information, contact the MCPS Department of Special Education Services at 240-740-3900 or one of the CoChairs.


Additional Resources

Resources for Families

MCPS Annual Special Education Summit - Video Presentations and Slides

MC Recreation: Kids Day Out and Therapeutic Recreation Camp 2022 Information | español

Program Access (Inclusion) Making the Right choice

Maryland State Depart of Education Technical Assistance Bulletin: Specific Learning Disability and Supplement 

Unified Physical Education

Inclusive Youth Leadership


Contact an Area Supervisor for Information on:

Home School Model, Learning and Academic Disabilities, Elementary Learning Centers, Learning For Independence, School/Community-based Program

You may locate and contact your Area Supervisor by school or view the table below by area.

Areas Contact Phone Number
Albert Einstein HS, DCC
Newport Mill MS: Highland, Oakland Terrace, Rock View
Sligo MS: Glen Haven, Flora Singer, Woodlin

Northwood HS, DCC
Silver Spring International MS: Forest Knolls, Highland View, Rolling Terrace, Sligo Creek ES

Montgomery Blair HS, DCC
Eastern MS: Montgomery Knolls, New Hampshire Estates, Oak View, Pine Crest
Takoma Park MS: East Silver Spring, Piney Branch, Takoma Park ES

Bethesda-Chevy Chase HS
Silver Creek MS: Chevy Chase, North Chevy Chase,
Rock Creek Forest, Rosemary Hills
Westland MS: Bethesda, Somerset, Westbrook
Dr. Cynthia M. Webb (Supervisor)
Ms. Susan B. Ryan (Instructional Specialist)

Dr. Cynthia M. Webb


Springbrook HS, NEC
Key MS: Burnt Mills, Cannon Road, Cresthaven, Drew, Nix
White Oak MS: Jackson Road, Leleck, Westover 

Poolesville HS
Poole MS: Monocacy, Poolesville ES

Longview School
Mr. William McGrath, Supervisor

Gaithersburg HS
Forest Oak MS: Goshen, Rosemont, Summit Hall, Washington Grove Gaithersburg MS:
Gaithersburg ES, Laytonsville, Strawberry Knoll, Harriett Tubman

Northwest HS
Kingsview MS: Great Seneca Creek, McNair, Matsunaga, Darnestown, Diamond
Clemente MS: Clopper Mill, Germantown
Mrs. Lora S. Johnson (Supervisor)
Mrs. H. Shorb (Instructional Specialist)

Mrs. Lora S. Johnson


Wheaton HS, DCC
Loiederman MS/Parkland MS: Brookhaven, Harmony Hills, Shriver, Viers Mill, Weller Road, Wheaton Woods

Thomas S. Wootton HS
Cold Spring, Stone Mill
Frost MS: Dufief, Fallsmead, Lakewood, Travilah

Thomas Edison HS of Technology

Winston Churchill HS
Cabin John MS: Bells Mill, Seven Locks
Hoover MS: Beverly Farms, Potomac, Wayside

Richard Montgomery HS
Julius West MS: Beall, College Gardens, Ritchie Park, Twinbrook, Bayard Rustin
Mrs. Claudette R. Smith (Supervisor)
Mrs. Sarah Kio (Instructional Specialist)

Ms. Claudette R. Smith


Clarksburg HS
Neelsville MS: Daly, Fox Chapel, Rocky Hill MS: Clarksburg ES, Gibbs, Little Bennett
Hallie Wells: Cedar Grove, Wims

Sherwood HS
Rosa Parks: Belmont, Greenwood, Olney
Farquhar MS: Brooke Grove, Sherwood ES

Watkins Mill HS
Montgomery Village MS: Stedwick, Watkins Mill ES, Whetstone, South Lake

Damascus HS
Baker MS: Clearspring, Damascus ES, Rockwell, Woodfield

Blair G. Ewing Center (3 sites)
Mr. Damien Ingram, Principal

Regional Institute for Children
and Adolescents (RICA)
Dr. Sandi B. Ives, Supervisor
Ms. Kia Middleton-Murphy (Supervisor)
Mrs. Ashley Doyle  (Instructional Specialist)

Mrs. Kia Middleton-Murphy


Seneca Valley HS
McAuliffe, Sally Ride
M L King: Lake Seneca, Waters Landing

Rockville HS
Wood MS: Barnsley, Flower Valley, Maryvale, Meadow Hall, Rock Creek Valley

Rock Terrace School
Ms. Anne Marie Tagliaferri, Supervisor

James H. Blake HS, NEC
Cloverly, Stonegate

Paint Branch HS, NEC
Banneker MS: Burtonsville, Fairland, Greencastle
Briggs Chaney: Galway, Tyler Page

Walt Whitman HS
Pyle MS: Bannockburn, Bradley Hills, Burning Tree, Carderock Springs, Wood Acres

Stephen Knolls
Mr. William McGrath, Supervisor

Lathrop E. Smith Center
Ms. Laurie C. Jenkins, Supervisor
Dr. Melissa A. Brunson (Supervisor)
Mr. Bryan E. Hunter (Instructional Specialist)

Dr. Melissa A. Brunson


John F. Kennedy HS,DCC
Odessa Shannon MS: Arcola, Glenallan, Kemp Mill
Argyle MS: Bel Pre, Georgian Forest, Strathmore

Col. Zadok Magruder HS
Redland MS: Cashell, Resnik, Sequoyah
Shady Grove MS: Candlewood, Flower Hill, Mill Creek Towne

Quince Orchard HS
Lakelands Park MS, Brown Station, Rachel Carson
Ridgeview MS: Fields Road, Jones Lane, Thurgood Marshall

Walter Johnson HS
North Bethesda MS: Ashburton, Kensington-Parkwood, Wyngate
Tilden MS: Farmland, Garrett Park, Luxmanor

Carl Sandburg Learning Center
Mrs. Kris M. Secan, Supervisor
Mrs. Kelly J. Jiron, Supervisor
Ms. Gerry Edwards, Instructional Specialist

Mrs. Kelly J. Jiron



   ^ Back to Top