Nancy Navarro
President
Shirley Brandman
Vice President
Steve Abrams
Christopher Barclay
Sharon W. Cox
Judith Docca
Ben Moskowitz
Patricia O'Neill
Jerry D. Weast
Superintendent

7:00 p.m.

Stephen Sabia, student

# MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

Carver ESC, 850 Hungerford Drive Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617

This agenda is available in an alternative format upon request, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, by contacting the Department of Communications 301-279-3391 and TDD 301-279-3323. Individuals who need special accommodations in communicating with the Board should call 301-279-3617.

### FY 2009 OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

**SINCE JANUARY 1**:

3 minutes

Business Meeting: 1 Special Meeting: Hearing: 2

# Wednesday, January 16, 2008, 7:00 p.m.\*

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25 copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will have worksessions on the budget on January 23 and 24. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 5, 2008.

	Rockzana Flores, student	3 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:10	Bonnie Cullison, Montgomery County Education Association minutes	5
	Rebecca Newman, Montgomery County Association of Administrative and Supervisory Personnel	5 minutes
	Merle Cuttitta, SEIU Local 500	5 minutes
	Mark Adelman, Montgomery County Civic Federation	5 minutes
	Bob Monsheimer, Montgomery County Taxpayers League	5 minutes
	Brian Roberts, NAACP Parents Council	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:45	Watkins Mill Cluster Speaker: Susan Young	8 minutes
	Magruder Cluster Speaker: Dawn Trahern	8 minutes
	Whitman Cluster Speaker: Paula Robinson	8 minutes
	Damascus Cluster Speaker: Leslie Cuneo	8 minutes
	Clarksburg Cluster	8 minutes

Board of Education January 16, 2008

Speaker: Jaimie Jacobson

#### **Board Questions**

8:30 Sherwood Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Fran Simmons

Springbrook Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Nagma Hussain

Paint Branch Cluster 8minutes

Speaker: Patti Twigg

Blake Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Dawn Dolan

**Board Questions** 

9:10 Rockville Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Amy Hartley

Richard Montgomery Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Lori Merrill

Churchill Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Laurie Halverson

Wootton Cluster 8 minutes

Speaker: Rich Edelman

#### **Board Questions**

#### 9:40 Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes each)

1. Brehanu Bendane

2. Michael Barnet

3. Marvin Weinman

4. Diane Raynes 11. Liz Roth

5. Karen Craney 12. Christina Program

6. David Holdefer 13. Amuthan Kannan

7. Joan Karasik 14. Stephanie Weishaar

8. John Surr 15. Daniel Nichols

9. Whitney Ellenby 16. Jackie Suzich

10. Ricki Sabia Board Questions

#### **Board Questions**

## 10:40 Adjourn