WellnessCenterLogo

 

Please click the links below for Wellness Center Enrollments 

Enrollment in the Wellness Center requires the completion of an application by a parent or legal guardian. You may pick up a Wellness Center enrollment form from the WHS health room or guidance office.  Please complete all sections. The forms must be signed by a parent/guardian. Please return it to the health room.  

English
Español

Center Hours: Typical hours of operation are Monday through Friday, 8:00 am-6:00 pm 301-321-3310 Room 1117 
Wellness Center Health Clinic hours are 8:00 am-2:00 pm, Monday-Friday 301-321-3440

Vision:

The Wellness Center envisions students healthy in body, mind and spirit fully committed to high academic achievement and models of leadership, strength and success.

Mission:

The Wellness Center is committed to helping students in the school community reach their full potential by offering coordinated medical care, quality counseling, positive youth development, and health education experiences in a confidential and culturally sensitive manner.

Clients:

The center serves students enrolled in Wheaton High School.

Staff:

The Wellness Center consists of a site manager, nurse, nurse practitioners/pediatrician, licensed mental health counselors, and youth development counselors.

 

 Name
Position
Phone Number
Email

Marvin Jovel

Site Manager (Manages Youth Development)

301-321-3312 ext.1207

Marvin_A_Jovel@mcpsmd.org

Carolyn Almonte

Mental Health Therapist

301-321-3258 ext.1209

Carolyn_E_Almonte2@mcpsmd.org

Erik Barrios

Program Coordinator

301-321-3311 ext.1205

Erik_M_Barrios@mcpsmd.org

Leila Eguino

Youth Development Specialist

301-321-3309 ext.1204

Lelia_M_Eguino@mcpsmd.org

Daniela Delgado

Youth Development Specialist

301-321-3309 ext.1204

Daniela_A_Delgado@mcpsmd.org

Kristi Stull

Youth Development Specialist

301-321-3307 ext.1202

Kristi_N_Stull@mcpsmd.org  

Lex Morgan

Youth Development Specialist

301-321-3308 ext.1203

Rhoneka_A_Morgan@mcpsmd.org

Teresa Perez

School Nurse (Manages Health Services)

301-321-3440 ext.1119

Teresa_J_Perez@mcpsmd.org

Karla Arrington

Nurse Technician

301-321-3440 ext.1120

Karla_G_Arrington@mcpsmd.org

Angelica Vargas

Parent Outreach Worker

301-321-3310 ext.1201

avargas@identity-youth.org

Alice Barnett

Parent Outreach Worker

301-321-3310 ext.1206

abarnett@identity-youth.org

María Lucila Cordero

Parent Outreach Work

301-321-3310 ext.1201

 mcordero@identity-youth.org

 
Services:
Health Services
  • Primary Preventive Care
  • Dental Screening and Referrals
  • Diagnosis and treatment of minor/acute health problems
  • Gynecological care (NO contraceptives dispensed)
  • Immunizations
  • Laboratory testing
  • Sports Physical Exams
  • STI/HIV screening
  • Vision and Hearing Assessments
Mental Health Services
  • Individual counseling
  • Family counseling
  • Group counseling
  • Crisis intervention
After-School Youth Groups
  • Encourage healthy development
  • Promote leadership, self-esteem, communication skills, goal setting, positive relationships, and substance abuse education.
Case Management Services - (Individual & Family)
  • Academic Support
  • Child Care
  • Clothing
  • Educational /Employment Resources
  • Emergency Services
  • Eviction/Homeless/Housing Issues
  • Food Resources
  • Insurance Applications/Issues
  • Legal Services