Special Programs → Language Immersion Programs

 

WORLD LANGUAGES/ LANGUAGE Immersion ACQUISITION

The goal of the Montgomery County Public Schools’ foreign language program is to educate students in a language and culture in order to make them knowledgeable and active members of a global society. Students will learn to use foreign languages for meaningful communication in both spoken and written form. The foreign language program emphasizes language as it is used in real-life situations that students are most likely to encounter. Through foreign language study, students develop sensitivity to the cultural and linguistic heritage of other groups, understand their influence on American culture, and become prepared to participate in a society characterized by linguistic and cultural diversity."

                                                                  - Montgomery County Public Schools Department of World Languages Program Philosophy

 

Staff                                                                

"Immersion is a method of foreign language instruction in which the regular school curriculum is taught in another language. A two-period block of instruction enables students to enhance their language development as well as complete the social studies courses in French and Spanish." -

-Montgomery County Public Schools Special Programs

 

    

linker 2016  

      Ponce 2016      

Molly Dougherty

Content Specialist

Molly_P_Dougherty@mcpsmd.org

Molly.P.Dougherty@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

 

Samuel Linker

Spanish Immersion 6

Spanish for Spanish

Speakers 1AB

Samuel_C_Linker@mcpsmd.org

Samuel.C.Linker@mcpsmd.net

 

Mara Ponce

Spanish 3AB  

Spanish for Spanish 

Speakers 1AB

Spanish Immersion World Studies 6

Mara_Ponce@mcpsmd.org

Mara.Ponce@mcpsmd.net

Sanvee 15-16

 

Stoyanava-Linker 15-16

 

Ms. Catherine Priser.jpg

Agnes Sanvee  

French 3AB

 French Immersion 

World Studies 7

French Immersion

World Studies 8

Agnes_V_Sanvee@mcpsmd.org

Agnes.V.Sanvee@mcpsmd.net

Slaviana Stoyanova-Linker 

French Immersion 8

French Immersion 

World Studies 6

Slaviana_P_Stoyanova-Linker@mcpsmd.org

Slaviana.P.Stoyanova-Linker@mcpsmd.net

Catherine Priser  

French Immersion 7 

French Immersion 

 World Studies 6 

 

Catherine_Priser@mcpsmd.org

Catherine.Priser@mcpsmd.net

     

David Hinds

Spanish for Spanish

Speakers 2AB

Spanish 2AB

David_A_Hinds@mcpsmd.org

David.A.Hinds@mcpsmd.net

 

 

Yohance Aaron

Spanish Immersion 7

Spanish 1AB 

 

Yoahnce_L_Aaron@mcpsmd.org

Yohance.L.Aaron@mcpsmd.net

 

 

Shilah Marks

French 1AB

French 2AB

Shilah_O_Marks@mcpsmd.org

Shilah.O.Marks@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

GIZAW 2016

 

 

Sarah Gizaw

Spanish Immersion 8

Sarah_Gizaw@mcpsmd.org

Sarah.Gizaw@mcpsmd.net

Axelle Leby

French Immersion 6

French 1AB

Axelle_C_Leby@mcpsmd.org

Axelle.C.Leby@mcpsmd.net

Violeta Howard Spanish Immersion World Studies 7

Spanish for Spanish Speakers 2AB

Spanish 2AB

Violeta_E_Howard@mcpsmd.org

Violeta.E.Howard@mcpsmd.net

Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbers are listed in the Staff Directory

 

Community Updates as of January 4, 2019- 

please click on the link for updated information

 

https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1nwYtS9Ype9kB86Nxk54Hkj9MMsGBt2lqZXc5fWiGRXQ/edit?usp=sharing

Visit Us on Twitter:

@SSIMS_WorldLang