Special Programs → Language Immersion Programs

 

WORLD LANGUAGES/ LANGUAGE Immersion ACQUISITION

The goal of the Montgomery County Public Schools’ foreign language program is to educate students in a language and culture in order to make them knowledgeable and active members of a global society. Students will learn to use foreign languages for meaningful communication in both spoken and written form. The foreign language program emphasizes language as it is used in real-life situations that students are most likely to encounter. Through foreign language study, students develop sensitivity to the cultural and linguistic heritage of other groups, understand their influence on American culture, and become prepared to participate in a society characterized by linguistic and cultural diversity."

- Montgomery County Public Schools Department of World Languages Program Philosophy

 

Staff

"Immersion is a method of foreign language instruction in which the regular school curriculum is taught in another language. A two-period block of instruction enables students to enhance their language development as well as complete the social studies courses in French and Spanish." -

-Montgomery County Public Schools Special Programs

Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbers are listed in the Staff Directory

Joanna Ringelstetter

Content Specialist

Spanish 2

JoAnna_M_Ringelstetter@mcpsmd.org

Elizabeth Adelman

Spanish 1

Spanish Immersion Historical Inquiry 7 

Lizzie_Adelman@mcpsmd.org

Tanya Busch Garcia

Spanish 1 & 3

Tanya_R_BuschGarcia@mcpsmd.org

Adrian Fontes

Spanish for Spanish Speakers 2

Spanish Immersion

Adrian_G_Fontes@mcpsmd.org

GIZAW 2016Sarah Gizaw

Spanish Immersion

Sarah_Gizaw@mcpsmd.org

Axelle Leby

French Immersion

French Immersion Historical Inquiry 7

Axelle_C_Leby@mcpsmd.org

linker 2016

Samuel Linker

Spanish 3, Spanish Immersion

Samuel_C_Linker@mcpsmd.org

Kemba Nnamdi

French 1 & 2

Kemba_Nnamdi@mcpsmd.org

Ponce 2016

Mara Ponce

Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1

Spanish Immersion Historical Inquiry 6

Mara_Ponce@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Catherine Priser.jpg

Catherine Priser

French Immersion

French Immersion Historical Inquiry 6

Catherine_Priser@mcpsmd.org

Sanvee 15-16

Agnes Sanvee

French 3

French Immersion U.S. History 8

Agnes_V_Sanvee@mcpsmd.org

Stoyanava-Linker 15-16

Slaviana Stoyanova-Linker

French Immersion

French Immersion Historical Inquiry 6

Slaviana_P_Stoyanova-Linker@mcpsmd.org

 

--

Visit Us on Twitter:

@SSIMS_WorldLang