Special Education

"One of the major functions of the Division (of Special Education) is to ensure that students with disabilities achieve the goals of the MCPS Program of Studies and the Call to Action plan in the least restrictive environment."

- Montgomery County Public Schools Department of Special Education

At Silver Spring International Middle School, we offer an inclusion program to all of our students in Special Education. Students are mainstreamed for the majority, if not all, of their academic and elective classes. These classes are co-taught by a general education teacher along with a special education teacher/paraeducator. In addition, we offer self-contained classes such as Intensive Reading Needs (IRN), resource support, etc., based on the needs of individual students.

If you need additional information, please contact Mr. Jerry Scotti, Special Education Resource Teacher at 301-650-6544 or Jerry_Scotti@mcpsmd.org  

More information

Staff

Special Ed Group Picture 2016-17

Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbersare listed in the Staff Directory

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000001.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000085.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/1Q01134.JPG

Jerry Scotti
Content Specialist

Jerry_Scotti@mcpsmd.org

Jerry.Scotti@mcpsmd.net

Walter Knauff
 ARS Grade 7

Walter_S_Knauff@mcpsmd.org

Walter.S.Knauff@mcpsmd.net

Jamila Mitchell
 ARS Grade 7

Jamila_G_Mitchell@mcpsmd.org

Jamila.G.Mitchell@mcpsmd.net

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000022(1).jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/1Q01108.JPG /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000017.jpg

Maireline Serpas
ARS

Maireline_Serpas@mcpsmd.org

Savitrie Miller

Savitrie_Miller@mcpsmd.org

Serita Woodfolk
ARS

Serita_R_Woodfolk@mcpsmd.org

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000074.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000073.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000083.jpg

Alisa Dennis 

Reading & English

Alisa_Dennis@mcpsmd.org

Alisa.Dennis@mcpsmd.net

Shannon Flowers 

Math

Shannon_Flowers@mcpsmd.org

Shannon.Flowers@mcpsmd.net

Philip Sheridan

Math

Philip_L_Sheridan@mcpsmd.org

Philip.L.Sheridan@mcpsmd.net

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000087.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000027.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000066(1).jpg

Nadine Finau

English

Nadine_M_Finau@mcpsmd.org

Nadine.M.Finau@mcpsmd.net

Diane Sauter

English

Diane_M_Sauter@mcpsmd.org

Diane.M.Sauter@mcpsmd.net

Ricardo Ballon
  Para Educator

Ricardo_Ballon@mcpsmd.org

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000065.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000060.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000016.jpg

Kim Ferguson

Reading & English

Kim_S_Ferguson@mcpsmd.org

Kim.Ferguson@mcpsmd.net

Marcos Cordeiro
Para Educator

Marcos_J_Cordeiro@mcpsmd.org

Nafy Kane
 Para Educator

Nafy_S_Kane@mcpsmd.org

  /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000061.jpg  

Azezza Lewis
Para Educator

Azezza_E_Lewis@mcpsmd.org

Luz Ramoz
 Para Educator

Luz_M_Ramos@mcpsmd.org

 

 

 Emily Bergman

Speech Pathologist

Emily_Genovese@mcpsmd.org








/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/specialed/id000021.jpg  


 Shannon Katz
Speech Pathologist

Shannon_N_Katz@mcpsmd.org


Eva Dounis
 Para Educator

Eva_Dounis@mcpsmd.org 

Richard Nana

Math

Richard_K_Nana@mcpsmd.org

Richard.K.Nana@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

Shara Tipton

ARS Grade 8

Shara_S_Tipton@mcpsmd.org

Shara.S.Tipton@mcpsmd.net

Jade Pridgeon

ARS Grade 8

Jade_L_Pridgeon@mcpsmd.org

Jade.L.Pridgeon@mcpsmd.net

Brianne Murphy

ARS Grade 6

Brianne_C_Murphy@mcpsmd.org

Brianne.C.Murphy@mcpsmd.net