Physical Education

students exercising

The physical education program offers a comprehensive and well-balanced series of instructional activities. Included are activities such as conditioning and physical fitness, individual and dual sports, team sports, aerobics, track and field, and outdoor activities.

Exposure to a variety of sports and physical activities provides the basis for students to develop an interest and understanding of the importance of lifetime fitness.

The objectives of this course are to teach children to:

  • appreciate and understand the value of physical education and its relationship to a healthy, active lifestyle
  • work to their optimal level of physical fitness
  • develop the motor skills necessary to participate successfully in a variety of physical activities
  • develop social skills that demonstrate the importance of teamwork and cooperation in group activities

During one of the nine weeks in which students are taking Physical Education they will be instructed in Health Education. In this course, students will learn how to prevent health problems, how to handle problems when they occur, and how to improve their overall health.

Course Descriptions and Grading Policy

More information

Staff

Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbers are listed in the Staff Directory

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/physed/id000041.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/physed/id000064.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/physed/id000095.jpg

Carlo Bianchini

PE 6, 7 & 8

Content Specialist

Carlo_Bianchini@mcpsmd.org

Carlo.Bianchini@mcpsmd.net

Adam Seidman

PE 6 & 7

Adam_E_Seidman@mcpsmd.org

Adam.E.Seidman@mcpsmd.net

Terence James

PE 6, 7 & 8

Terence_R_James@mcpsmd.org

Terence.R.James@mcpsmd.net

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/physed/gourdine.jpg /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/physed/1Q01046.JPG  

Danielle Gourdine

Health 6

PE 7 & 8

Danielle_Gourdine@mcpsmd.org

Danielle.Gourdine@mcpsmd.net

Benjamin Morey

PE 6 & 8

Health 6 & 8

Benjamin_Morey@mcpsmd.org

Benjamin.Morey@mcpsmd.net 

Haylee Frankline

Health 6

Dance

PE 8

Haylee_Franklin@mcpsmd.org

Haylee.Franklin@mcpsmd.net

     

Jennifer Casciotta

Health 7 & 8

Jennifer_L_Casciotta@mcpsmd.org

Jennifer.L.Casciotta@mcpsmd.net