ESOL

"The goal of the ESOL program is to help the English Language Learners to learn enough English to function linguistically and culturally in the Montgomery County Public Schools and in the mainstream of American society." - Montgomery County Public Schools Divisino of ESOL/Bilingual Programs

The English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) program helps students who are not English-native speakers learn academic English, adapt socially, achieve academically, and eventually move into mainstream classes.

Our students come from many countries around the world. Some have attended school in their native countries while others have had limited educational experiences.

Students are scheduled into either ESOL 1, ESOL 2, ESOL 3-5 Advance Grade 6, ESOL 3-5 Advance Grade 7 and ESOL Advance Grade 8. Their placement is based on a variety of assessments incuding the WIDA Proficiency Test which tests students' English proficiency in reading, writing, speaking and listening skills. Teacher observation and parent input is also used. The student's schedule is based on language acquisition and depending on the students current grade level.

More information

Staff

Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbers are listed in the Staff Directory

Jaime Goldman

Content Specialist

Advanced English 6

Jaime_R_Goldman@mcpsmd.org

Jaimr.R.Goldmand@mcpsmd.net

Lisa Labbate

ESOL 3

Read 180

Lisa_D_Labbate@mcpsmd.org

Lisa.D.Labbate@mcpsmd.net

Michele Richardson

Academic Language

Read 180

Digital Literacy 1

Michele_J_Richardson@mcpsmd.org

Michele.J.Richardson@mcpsmd.net

Elizabeth Zhu

ESOL 3

Elizabeth_H_Zhu@mcpsmd.org

Elizabeth.H.Zhu@mcpsmd.net 

 

 

 

 

 

Vicky Sosa

ESOL 1, 2 & 3

Vicky_D_Sosa@mcpsmd.org

Vicky.D.Sosa@mcpsmd.net