English

 students in class

"The goal of the secondary English Language Arts program is to create literate, thoughtful communicators, capable of controlling language effectively as they negotiate an increasingly complex and information-rich world. Students will refine specific skills and strategies in reading, writing, speaking, listening, and viewing and will use these skills and strategies widely as tools for learning and reflection. Exploring a variety of texts, students will understand and appreciate language and literature as catalysts for deep thought and emotion."

- Montgomery County Public Schools Secondary English Philosophy

Click here for information on Summer Reading Assignments 20-21

 

Course Descriptions and Grading Policy

 

More information

Staff

 Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbers are listed in the Staff Directory

   

Jaime Goldman

Content Specialist

Advanced English 6

Jaime_R_Goldman@mcpsmd.org

Jaimr.R.Goldmand@mcpsmd.net

Teaira Buchanan

Advanced English 8

Teaira_S_Buchanan@mcpsmd.org

Teaira.S.Buchanan@mcpsmd.net

 

Alisa Dennis

Digital Literacy 2

Digital Literacy 3

Alisa_Dennis@mcpsmd.org

Alisa.Dennis@mcpsmd.net

Kim Ferguson

Advanced English 8

Reading

Kim_S_Ferguson@mcpsmd.org

Kim.S.Ferguson@mcpsmd.net

Nadine Finau

Advanced English 7

ESOL 3

Nadine_M_Finau@mcpsmd.org

Nadine.M.Finau@mcpsmd.net

Lisa Labbate

ESOL 3

Read 180

Lisa_D_Labbate@mcpsmd.org

Lisa.D.Labbate@mcpsmd.net

Cindy Mannix

Advanced English 6

Cindy_Mannix@mcpsmd.org

Cindy.Mannix@mcpsmd.net

Andrew Opie

Advanced English 7

Andrew_G_Opie@mcpsmd.org

Andrew.G.Opie@mcpsmd.net

Alexis Phares

Advanced English 7

Digital Literacy 2

Alexis_F_Phares@mcpsmd.org

Alexis.F.Phares@mcpsmd.net

Michele Richardson

Academic Language

Read 180

Digital Literacy 1

Michele_J_Richardson@mcpsmd.org

Michele.J.Richardson@mcpsmd.net

Alex Smith

Advanced English 8

Alexander_R_Smith@mcpsmd.org

Alexander.R.Smith@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

Kerry Sullivan

Advanced English 8

Digital Scholars 3

Kerry_Sullivan@mcpsmd.org

Kerry.Sullivan@mcpsmd.net

 

Chelsea Van Tassell

Advanced English 6

Chelsea_M_VanTassell@mcpsmd.org

Chelsea.M.VanTassell@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

 

 

Lina Wahid

Advanced English 7

Advanced English 8

Lina_A_Wahid@mcpsmd.org

Lina.A.Wahid@mcpsmd.net