Electives

students in electives

Silver Spring International Middle School offers a variety of courses in the visual arts, music, theatre, dance, family and consumer science.

  • Grade 6 students may choose to enroll in an Arts Rotation class that will give them a sampling of four different Electives courses, one per quarter, or they may choose a yearlong class of band, orchestra or chorus.

  • Grade 7 students may choose two semester classes per school year or a year-long class of band, orchestra or chorus.

  • Grade 8 students will choose one year-long elective course.

Course Descriptions and Grading Policy

See course descriptions on the Course Selection Guide page

See our grading policy

More information

Staff

Staff e-mail addresses and phone numbers are listed in the Staff Directory

      /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/electives/1Q01088.JPG

Carlo Bianchini

Content Specialist

Carlo_Bianchini@mcpsmd.org

Carlo.Bianchini@mcpsmd.net

Alex Smith

Theater, Beginning and Advanced

Alexander_R_Smith@mcpsmd.org

Alexander.R.Smith@mcpsmd.net

Denise Moore 

FACS 6 and 8

Denise_S_Moore@mcpsmd.org

Denise.S.Moore@mcpsmd.net

/uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/electives/1Q01025.JPG /uploadedImages/schools/ssims/departments/electives/1Q01029.JPG  

Shelby Umetsu

Photography 1 and 2

Shelby_L_Umetsu@mcpsms.org

Shelby.L.Umestu@mcpsmd.net

 

Lisa Jennings

Art 2 and 3

Lisa_R_Jennings@mcpsmd.org

Lisa.R.Jennings@mcpsmd.net

 

Gladys Castellanos

Lights, Camera, Literacy!

TV Studio

Gladys_Castellanos@mcpsmd.org

Gladys.Castellanos@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

Kevin Grimsland

Lights, Camera, Film! Literacy

Kevin_K_Grimsland@mcpsmd.org

Kevin.K.Grimsland@mcpsmd.net

 

Vicky Johnson

Art 1 & 2

Specialty Art 

Vicky_Johnson2@mcpsmd.org

Vicky.Johnson2@mcpsmd.net

Dimitri Nassar

Piano 1 & 2

Chorus 1, 2, & General

Dimitri_Nassar@mcpsmd.org

Dimitri.Nassar@mcpsmd.net

 

 

 

Andy Silverstein

Lights, Camera, Film! Literacy

Lights, Camera, Media! Literacy

Andrew_Silverstein@mcpsmd.org

Andrew.Silverstein@mcpsmd.net

John Wambach

Guitar

Band & Orchestra

John_D_Wambach@mcpsmd.org

John.D.Wambach@mcpsmd.net 

Norah Ward

FACS 7

Norah_K_Ward@mcpsmd.org

Norah.K.Ward@mcpsmd.net

 



For the Staff in Music please see

https://www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/schools/ssims/departments/music/

 

 

For the Staff in Physical Education please see:

https://www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/schools/ssims/departments/physed/index.aspx