Language Arts

Summer Packets 2020

 
 
 
 

 Recommended Summer Reading Lists by Grade

We encourage parents/guardians to be involved in reading with their children this summer! 
What should we think about while reading?


Who are the main characters of the book? How would you characterize these characters? What does each character want in the story? Does this change during the story? Do the characters get what they want? Why or why not?

¿Quiénes son los personajes principales del libro? ¿Cómo caracterizaría usted a estos personajes? ¿Qué quiere cada personaje en la historia? ¿Esto cambia durante la historia? ¿Los personajes consiguen lo que quieren? ¿Por qué o por qué no?

Where does the story take place? Does this change? If so, how does the change affect the characters?
¿Dónde tomo lugar la historia? ¿Cambia esto? Si es así, ¿cómo el cambio afecta a los personajes?

What is the theme of the story?
¿Cuál es el tema de la historia? 

Whose perspective is this story told from? How would the story be different if it was told from a different character’s perspective?
¿De qué perspectiva es esta historia contada? ¿Cómo la historia sería diferente si se contara desde la perspectiva de un personaje diferente? 

Did this story influence you in some way? Did it change the way you think or how you understand the way the world works?

¿Te influyo esta historia de alguna manera? Te cambio la manera de pensar o entender cómo trabaja mundo?

English Curriculum Overview & Resources

The goal of the English Language Arts program at Loiederman Middle School is to create literate, thoughtful communicators, capable of controlling language effectively as they negotiate an increasingly complex and information-rich world. Guided by the Maryland English Language Arts Standards and the Common Core State Standards, the ELA program is designed to have students refine specific skills and strategies in reading, writing, speaking, listening, and viewing through the study of language and literature. Exploring a variety of texts and tasks over the course of three years, students will develop skills and strategies for learning and reflection, and appreciate language and literature as catalysts for deep thought and emotion.

Specialized Reading Programs

READ 180

      An intensive reading intervention program designed to meet the needs of students whose reading achievement is below the proficient level. The program directly addresses individual needs through adaptive and instructional software, high-interest literature, and direct instruction in reading and writing skills. 



English/Reading 240-740-5830

Ms. Allison M Poonai

Content Specialist- English Teacher Middle

Allison_M_Poonai@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Veronica P Amaguana

Reading Teacher Middle

Veronica_P_Amaguana@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Alyssa Deland

Classroom Teacher Middle

Alyssa_Deland@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Ashley B Delaney

Classroom Teacher Middle

Ashley_B_Delaney@mcpsmd.org

Mrs. Melissa A Goldberg

Classroom Teacher Middle

Melissa_A_Goldberg@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Margaret D Johnsen

Classroom Teacher Middle

Margaret_D_Johnsen@mcpsmd.org

 

Ms. Natalia Jones

Classroom Teacher Middle

Natalia_Jones@mcpsmd.org 

Mr. Ryan Kane

Classroom Teacher Middle

Ryan_Kane@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Crystal Marshall-krauss

Classroom Teacher Middle

Crystal_Marshall-krauss@mcpsmd.org

 

Ms. Sarah W Nelson

Classroom Teacher Middle

Sarah_W_Nelson@mcpsmd.org