ENGLISH Language Arts

Summer Packets 2020

 
 
 
 

 

English Curriculum Overview & Resources

The goal of the English Language Arts program at Loiederman Middle School is to create literate, thoughtful communicators, capable of controlling language effectively as they negotiate an increasingly complex and information-rich world. Guided by the Maryland English Language Arts Standards and the Common Core State Standards, the ELA program is designed to have students refine specific skills and strategies in reading, writing, speaking, listening, and viewing through the study of language and literature. Exploring a variety of texts and tasks over the course of three years, students will develop skills and strategies for learning and reflection, and appreciate language and literature as catalysts for deep thought and emotion.

 

Specialized Reading Programs

The goal of our specialized reading programs is to empower every reader to use strategies to be successful with challenging text. Reading instruction targets an area of identified need and reading classes meet in addition to students’ regularly scheduled English classes.

 

English/Reading 240-740-5830

Ms. Allison Poonai

Content Specialist- English Teacher Middle

Allison_M_Poonai@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Ida Abi Jomaa

Classroom Teacher Middle

Ida_L_AbiJomaa@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Veronica Amaguana

Reading Teacher Middle

Veronica_P_Amaguana@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Cecilia Bolton

Classroom Teacher

Cecilia_M_Bolton@mcpsmd.org

Mrs. Melissa Chae

Classroom Teacher Middle

Melissa_R_Chae@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Alyssa Deland

Classroom Teacher Middle

Alyssa_Deland@mcpsmd.org

Ms. Ashley Delaney

Classroom Teacher Middle

Ashley_B_Delaney@mcpsmd.org

Mrs. Melissa Goldberg

Classroom Teacher Middle

Melissa_A_Goldberg@mcpsmd.org

 

Ms. Sara Palczynski

Classroom Teacher Middle

Sara_R_Palczynski@mcpsmd.org