For more information contact:

Mr. Casey Siddons

National Honor Society

Mission Statement

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

"Efforts and courage are not enough without purpose and direction.”
—John F. Kennedy, 1960

Our Sponsor

Mr. Casey Siddons is the sponsor of John F. Kennedy’s National Honors Society (NHS). NHS provides students at Kennedy with opportunities for leadership roles to help them advance their community as well as build good character within themselves.

4 Pillars of the National Honor Society

  • Leadership
  • Character
  • Service
  • Academics/Scholarship

Requirements to Apply for for Membership

  • Scholarship: Per national guidelines, at a minimum, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.40.
  • Service: This involves voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation.
  • Leadership: Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, and idea contributors. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.
  • Character: The student of good character is cooperative; demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability; shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others; and generally maintains a clean disciplinary record.

Requirements to Maintain Membership

  • Minimum quarterly GPA is 3.40
  • 30 service hours during the school year in representation of NHS (over and above MCPS-required SSL hours for graduation)
  • Attend monthly meetings and committee meetings
  • Demonstrate the 4 pillars in all areas

Note from Mr. Siddons about NSHSS

Greetings prospective NHS members. The facility council will be reviewing applications in the coming weeks. Stay tuned for more info.

In the meantime, I wanted you all to be aware of spurious, non-NHS information that you may have received.

You may have recently received notification from an organization that calls itself the National Society of High School Scholars (NSHSS).

I understand that what they tell you in that letter may be intriguing and enticing as you begin your college search.

I would ask you to be skeptical of what they are all about. Personally, I find the organization to be like a scam, and tend to not fulfill what they promise only to use your money. Further, it’s much less stringent in their acceptance policies–you would be joining an organization that collects student info that is sold to them, and sends out bulk mailings to hundreds of thousands of kids nationwide.

As you consider this information, the following may be interesting for you to read: https://blog.collegevine.com/nhs-vs-nshss-whats-the-difference/

Also, this organization does have a lot of complaints on file with the Better Business Bureau: https://www.bbb.org/us/ga/atlanta/profile/educational-consultant/the-national-society-of-high-school-scholars-0443-12000946/complaints

2019-20 Board and Committees

Executive Board:
President: Kuds Desta
Vice President: Adriana Quinonez
Secretary: Daphne Ranti
Treasurer: Bersabeh Kifle
Historian: Tatiana Rubio

Committee Chairs:
Membership: Brook Fikre
Fundraising: Ayantu Feyissa
Communication: Ceilidh Kern and Olivia Miller

Congratulations to the 2019-20 National Honor Society Members!

Meklit Abebe


Aylin Aguilon Vasquez


Alexa Amaya

John Joshua Arukwe


Analya Benalcazar Guevara


Claudia Benitez Guevara

Kaylynn Bromell


Cynthia Flores


Betsy Garcia Vigil

Francesca Gasasira


Sofia Gomes


Natalia Gonzalez

Rio Alexi Gutierrez


Allison Hahn


Ariful Haque

Zahra Iskandar


Michael Joshua


Michael Joshua

Nolawit Kebede


Kewan Kidanemariam


Chloe King

Ivy Le


Rose-Marie Marcel


Lesly Marquez

Daniela Mejia Aguilar


Ablavi Modjinou


Bryan Nguyen

Asia Nuchurch


Emmanuela Obio-Amauwa


Bamidele Odubayo

Jacqueline Oviedo


Marcela Perez-Armas


Julianna Ramirez

Christian Regis


Andrea Renderos Ibañez


Sarah Rivera

Alexa Rubio


Wintana Samson


Gabrielle Sarino

Fernanda Sato


Feven Shonga


K'Lor Simms

Dana Tambal


Lorena Tchouwa Sakisa


Djenebou Traore

Daniel Truong


Nichele Washington


Nuhamin Wolde

Tina Zhang


Tamara Zuniga


JFK NHS double group photos stacked

Calendar of Upcoming Events

Social Networking

Instagram: @JFKNHS
Twitter: @JFKNHS