Mrs. Hermstein Mrs. Estrain Dr. Duval Mrs. Nguyen Ms. Wallerstedt
Mrs. Hermstein Mrs. Estrain Dr. Duval Ms. Nguyen Ms. Wallerstedt 


Our ESOL Program

Our English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) program serves approximately 150 students who come from a variety of countries and language backgrounds and speak many different languages.

Students are taught in small groups, at different levels, to speak, listen, read, and write in English.

ESOL Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

           What does ESOL mean?
                     ESOL stands for: English for Speakers of Other Languages.

           Who are the ESOL teachers and which students do they teach?     
                     Mrs. Nguyen teaches Kindergarten students.

                     Mrs. Estrain teaches 1st grade.

                     Ms.Wallerstedt teaches 2nd grade. 

                     Mrs. Hermstein teaches 3rd grade.

                     Dr. Duval teaches 4th and 5th grade students.


         What are the ESOL levels and how are they determined?

Level 1 Level 2 Level 3 Level 4 Level 5 Level 6
 Entering Beginning Developing Expanding Bridging Reaching




These levels describe the spectrum of a learner's progression from knowing little to no English to acquiring the English skills necessary to be successful in an English-only mainstream classroom without extra support.  This final exit stage for ELL status is designated Level 6 (formerly ELL).    

What is the ACCESS for ELLs?

Every year all ESOL students take the WIDA ACCESS for ELLs to determine their                                                      progression in English language skills.  If a student scores well on this assessment and also is performing at or above grade level in the mainstream classroom, he/she is exited from the ESOL program. How long the student stays in ESOL depends on his/her progress in English.   

What are the five content areas?

There are five content areas of the standards. The first is called social and instructional language (SI), which incorporates proficiencies needed to deal with the general language of the classroom and the school. The others are English language arts (LA), math (MA), science (SC), and social studies (SS).  The standards specify one or more performance indicators for each content area within each of the four language domains: Listening, Speaking, Reading, and Writing.



Student and Parent Resources

 ESOL Web Sites
for Learning (and Fun)
Student-Friendly WIDA
CAN DO Descriptors
MCPS Parent Guides
to the Curriculum