Social Studies


Resource Teacher: Fotini Economides 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Social Studies department is to encourage and promote effective thinking, writing,and reasoning. It is important that all students learn to conceptualize and connect ideas and knowledge with beliefs and civic participation. Our goal is to increase student to student discourse and critical thinking and writing skills.

Tutoring: Teachers are available for tutoring in different social studies subjects.

 

The goal of social studies is to help create literate and well-informed citizens who actively participate in a democratic society. Students learn how to become effective citizens through:

  • active engagement in the learning processes and skills of the social sciences and history;
  • development of a useful knowledge base in culture, economics, geography, history, and politics;
  • learning the fundamental structures of human systems of interaction and how these systems have developed over time;
  • application of concepts and knowledge of the past to problem-solving real-world issues of the present;
  • application and evaluation of the role of an effective citizen, including putting citizen participation theory into practice;
  • effective use of multiple sources of investigation for research and learning, including technology, primary and secondary source materials, the arts, film, and oral history; and
  • development and communication of social studies concepts and knowledge using a variety of formats, with a special emphasis on analytic and argumentative writing.

 

Staff List

Name
Photo
E-mail
Teaching Assignments

Fotini T. Economides 

(Resource Teacher)

Fotini_T_Economides@mcpsmd.org
  • US History
Melanie Abercrombie Melanie_D_Abercrombie@mcpsmd.org
  • Human Growth Development
  • Student Leadership
  • African American History
  • US History
James Andrews james_j_andrews@mcpsmd.org
  • MWH
  • NSL
Patrick Belott patrick_belott@mcpsmd.org
  • IB Geography
  • IB History 1
  • European History
Paul Bolstad   Paul_Bolstad@mcpsmd.org
  • US History
  • NSL
Christopher Donohue Christopher_M_Donohue@mcpsmd.org
  • IB Global Politics
  • MWH
  • NSL
Andreas Gelner Andreas_P_Gelner@mcpsmd.org
  • NSL
  • MWH
Samantha Hecox Samantha_J_Hecox@mcpsmd.org
  • AP Psychology
  • Psychology
  • AP Government
Nicole Holladay Nicole_E_Holladay@mcpsmd.org
  • AP World
  • AP US History
  • Psychology
Jared Kavlock Jared_A_Kavlock@mcpsmd.org
  • Journalism
  • Yearbook
  • Sociology
Katelyn Klenk Katelyn_A_Klenk@mcpsmd.org
  • US History
  • Law
Sean Loftus Sean_M_Loftus@mcpsmd.org
  • AP Government
  • NSL
Anthony Nappo Anthony_J_Nappo@mcpsmd.org
  • AP Government
  • NSL
William Wisniewski   William_M_Wisniewski@mcpsmd.org
  • AP US
  • IB History 2
Robert Western Robert_S_Western@mcpsmd.org
  • AP World
  • MWH
 
Drop here!