Mathematics

Resource Teacher: Mr. Kenneth Alford
Phone: 240-740-2642

E-mail: Kenneth_L_Alford@mcpsmd.org

Mission Statement: The mission of the Albert Einstein High School Mathematics department is to deliver mathematics instruction with fidelity that is rigorous, relevant and equitable for all students.  Our goal is to build strong teacher-student relationships that promote trust, student self-advocacy and risk-taking.  By providing quality instruction and productive relationships, we will produce competent students that are  equipped with math skills ready to compete in a global society.


Vision:  The vision of the Albert Einstein High School Mathematics department is to create a culture where all students are challenged to become critical thinkers and effective problem solvers by delivering instruction that is rigorous, relevant and equitable.  As a result, our students will be able to contribute to society in productive and meaningful leading to positive future.

 

Tutoring: Teachers are available for tutoring in different math subjects.

 

Staff List

Name
Photo
E-mail
Teaching Assignments

Kenneth Alford

(Resource Teacher)

Kenneth_L_Alford@mcpsmd.org
  • Algebra 1
Christopher Colwander Chris_M_Colwander@mcpsmd.org
  • Algebra 2
  • IB Math Analysis
  • Math Support
Rheangeli Diaz   Rheangeli_Diaz@mcpsmd.org
  • Geometry
  • Honors Geometry
Che Fon che_v_fon@mcpsmd.org
  • Algebra 2
  • Honors Algebra 2
Willie Howard   Willie_O_Howard@mcpsmd.org
  • Algebra 1
  • Precalculus
  • Honors Precalculus
Michael Lerner Michael_Lerner@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Geometry (9th Grade)
  • Intro to Statistics
Timothy Miyamoto Timothy_C_Miyamoto@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Algebra 2
  • AP AB Calculus
Ryan Oben Ryan_Oben@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Precalculus
  • AP Statistics
Rosemary Piercey Rosemary_G_Piercey@mcpsmd.org
  • Geometry
  • Honors Geometry (9th Grade)
Victor Powell Victor_R_Powell@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Geometry
  • Honors Precalculus
Cynthia Reese Cynthia_Reese@mcpsmd.org
  • Algebra 1
  • IB Math Studies
Kathryn Rubeck Kathryn_K_Rubeck@mcpsmd.org
  • Geometry
  • Honors Geometry (9th Grade)
  • AP BC Calculus
Oscar Salazar Oscar_Salazar@mcpsmd.org
  • MAPS
  • Honors Algebra 2
Lori Scherr Lori_L_Scherr@mcpsmd.org
  • Quantitative Literacy
Peter Walderhaug Peter_A_Walderhaug2@mcpsmd.org
  • Honors Algebra 2
  • Precalculus

 

MATH RESOURCES  

 

In-School Resources:  

- W.E.B. DuBois Group offers student -to-student help on Thursday's at lunch in Room 205.

- Jaime Escalante Honors Society offers student-to-student help on Thursday's at lunch in Room 29 and by appointment with tutor.

- YMCA offers adult-to-student help on Wednesday from 2:30 to 4:30 in the Cafeteria and on Tuesday and Thursday from 2:30 to 5:30.

- National Honor Society offers help in Room 254 at lunch on Mon, Tues, Thurs and Fri.

- Teachers offer help everyday.  See your teacher or another teacher in the department to see available times and make an appointment.

- Peer tutoring available daily in room 201 exclusively for Algebra 1 and Geometry students.

 

At-Home Resources:  

- Flexxbook

- KhanAcademy.org

- WolframAlpha.org

- ParccOnline.org

Parent PARCC Checklist

- Homework Help Hotline

         * Offers phone help Tuesday - Thursday from 4:30pm to 6:30pm (call 301.279.3234). 

         * Ask questions online at question@AskHHL.org or visit www.AskHHL.org  from 4:30pm to 9:30 pm

         * Text 724.427.5445

         * facebook.com/AskHHL

 

High School Assessment Information (HSA)

HSA

 
Drop here!