World Languages Department

Resource Teacher: Paula Peró
Phone: (240) 740-2700 ext 1071

Mission

The mission of the World Languages Department is to prepare students to be linguistically and culturally competent in languages other than English. The ability to communicate in a culturally appropriate manner with speakers of other languages is the key to success in the increasingly diverse global community of the 21st century. As students develop proficiency in world languages and an understanding of the underlying values and beliefs of other cultures, they gain the skills that are essential to meaningful communication.

Our goal is to for students to:

  • Demonstrate independence
  • Build strong content knowledge
  • Respond to the varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline
  • Comprehend as well as critique
  • Value evidence
  • Use technology and digital media strategically and capably
  • Come to understand other perspectives and cultures

News

Staff List

NOTE: Staff e-mail addresses can be found in the Staff Directory.

Department Resource Teacher Photo  
Paula Peró
Paula.Pero@mcpsmd.net

  • IB Spanish A: Language & Literature (Bilingual Diploma)
  • AP Spanish Language & Culture
  • Titanes Salseros Sponsor
  • Jaime Escalante Hispanic Honor Society Sponsor
 
Staff    
Mary Cardoza
Mary_D_Cardoza@mcpsmd.org
 
  • Spanish 2
  • Honors Spanish 3
 
Anamer Castrello
Ana_M_Castrello@mcpsmd.org
 
  • Spanish 1
  • Honors Spanish 3
 
Claudia de León
Claudia_A_DeLeon@mcpsmd.org
 
  • IB Spanish 5 (SL)
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 3
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1

 

Simone Harris
Simone_Harris@mcpsmd.org
 
  • Honors French 3
  • Honors French 4 & IB French 4
  • French 5 & IB French 5
  • IB French 6/7 & AP French Language & Culture
  • French Honor Society & French Club 
 
Nancy Hinchliffe
Nancy_Hinchliffe@mcpsmd.org
 
  • Spanish 2
  • Honors Spanish 3
  • Honors Spanish 4/ IB Spanish 4
 

 Jennifer O'Neil

Jennifer_Oneil1@mcpsmd.org

  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 1
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 2
  • Honors Spanish 4
  • Jaime Escalante Hispanic Honor Society Sponsor
 

Marianne Pagos

marianne_pagos@mcpsmd.org

 

  • French 1
  • French 2

Marjorie Ramirez Quevedo

Marjorie_Ramirez-quevedo@mcpsmd.org

 

  • Spanish 2
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 2
  • Honors Spanish 4 & IB Spanish 4
Sara Salazar
Sara_E_Salazar@mcpsmd.org
 
  • Spanish for Spanish Speakers 3
  • AP Spanish Language and Culture
      
 
Drop here!