Skip to main content

Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award

2023 Winner


Carolynn  Walsleben

Candlewood Elementary School Principal 


 Mrs. Carolynn Walsleben, principal of Candlewood Elementary School is this year’s winner of the Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award.

Full Story

The award is presented annually to an MCPS administrator who has shown exceptional performance in promoting academic excellence, positive human relations and community outreach. 

2023 Award Details

Nominations for the 2023 Mark Mann award are now closed. Please visit us again in October 2023.

About the Award

The award is designed to honor the highest qualities and most significant accomplishments of Dr. Mark Mann, former principal of Parkland Middle School, Montgomery County Public Schools. Dr. Mann was recognized throughout the system as an excellent school-based educator who dedicated himself to understanding and embracing the rich diversity of his school and community. He worked tirelessly to make everyone a vital part of school programs, activities and services.

Nomination Process


Nominations must be supported by at least two of the following: a student;  a staff member,  a parent/guardian, or community member. A minimum of two years experience as a principal is also required.

Nomination Forms

Mark Mann Nomination Form

Re-Submitting Previous Nominations

Nominations made in previous years may be resubmitted. Questions should be addressed to the Office of Human Resources and Development (OHRD), at 240-740-7012.

Winner Selection and Announcement

A panel appointed by the chief of Human Resources and Development, will select the recipient, and the award winner will be announced at a Board of Education meeting in May.

When and Where to Submit

Nomination Deadline

 Nomination materials must be received by midnight, December 16, 2022.

Nomination Form

Mark Mann Nomination Form


 Please submit completed nominations to:


Past Mark Mann Award Recipients


  • Loretta A. Woods
    Whetstone  ES, 2021
  •  Jewel A. Sanders
    Rosa M. Parks MS, 2020 
  • Jeffrey L. Cline
    Oak View ES, 2019
  •  Stacy A. Ashton
    Burnt Mills ES, 2018 
  • Craig W. Staton
    Julius West MS, 2017 
  • Peter O. Moran
    Glenallan ES, 2016  
  • Michelle E. Schultze
    RICA, 2015  
  • Patricia A. Kelly
    Westover ES, 2014
  • Joey N. Jones
    Robert Frost MS, 2013
  • Carole A. Working
    Quince Orchard HS, 2012
  • Catherine Jasperse
    Rock Creek Valley ES, 2011
  • Debra Munk
    Rockville HS, 2010
  • Billie-Jean Bensen
    Herbert Hoover MS, 2009
  • Michael Zarchin
    Thomas W. Pyle MS, 2008 
  • Lance Dempsey
    Shady Grove MS, 2007
  • Lee Derby
    Garrett Park ES, 2007
  • Sylvia Morrison
    Northwest HS, 2006
  • Sarah Pinkney-Murkey
    Rosa Parks MS, 2005
  • Carole C. Goodman
    James Hubert Blake HS, 2004


  • Kennon D. Evans
    Dr. Sally K Ride ES, 2003
  • James G. Fernandez
    Julius West MS, 2002
  • Kathy L. Brake
    Washington Grove ES, 2001
  • Fred H. Lowenbach
    Paint Branch HS, 2000
  • Phillip F. Gainous
    Montgomery Blair HS, 1999
  • David I. Steinberg
    Gaithersburg MS, 1998
  • Joanne M. Basalacchi
    New Hampshire ES, 1998
  • Sharon J. Jones
    Gaithersburg ES, 1997
  • Mark E. Kelsch
    Sligo MS, 1997
  • Jerome M. Lynch
    Rocky Hill MS, 1996
  • Stephanie B. Jackson
    Chevy Chase ES, 1995
  • Ellen P. DeYoung
    Kemp Mill ES, 1994
  • Dorothy J. Jackson
    Sligo MS, 1993
  • Joseph J. Dalton
    Wheaton HS, 1992
  • Lois E. Bell
    Summit Hall ES, 1991